Setting Up Users

Each user of Response Manager–whether a group mailbox user, administrator, or both–must have an account on the Response Manager Server. This chapter describes how to create and configure user accounts.

Creating and Modifying User Accounts

To create or edit a user account:

  1. Click the Users tab.
Users page
Users page
  1. To add a user, click Add.

    or

    To edit a user, select the user and click Modify.

  2. Enter the user information.

    Username
    An account name identifying the user. This is the user’s Response Manager login name.

    Changing a username once an account has been in use is not recommended as it may adversely affect reporting data for the account.

    First, Last
    The user’s first and last names.
    Password, Password confirm
    The password for the user.
    User may access reports
    Select this option to allow the user to log in to the Reports server. Reports permissions will control which reports and group mailboxes the user has access to once logged in. For more information on using reports, see Working With Reports.
    System administrator
    Select this option to make the user a System Administrator. System administrators have:
    • full Response Manager Admin access

    • all privileges for any group mailbox to which they belong

    • full access to messages through the Find Messages web page

    • access to all reports for all users and group mailboxes (as long as the User may access reports option is also selected)

    Maximum messages
    The maximum number of messages that can be assigned to the user in each group mailbox. To indicate that there is no limit, enter 0.

    This setting affects only message assignment via the round robin and load balanced auto-assignment methods. Rules, manual assignment, automatic reply assignment, etc., do not respect this maximum.

  3. When a user is created, the system schedule is copied to the user schedule. If a user has different business hours and holidays than the system schedule, or if you want to indicate vacation and sick days, click Schedule to set a custom schedule for the user. See Working with Schedules.

    User schedule dialog box
    User schedule dialog box

    User schedules, unlike system or group mailbox schedules, can have two timespans per day instead of just one. You can use this feature to schedule users who work over day boundaries or to omit lunch breaks from schedules.

    A user’s schedule can be easily copied from another user. Click Copy From… and select the user to copy from. Only the working hours are copied, not vacations and sick days.

  4. Specify any aliases for the user by clicking Aliases. See User Aliases.

  5. To allow a user to view and respond to messages in a group mailbox, click Add. Select the group mailboxes that you want the user to belong to, then click OK.

    To remove the user from a group mailbox, select the group mailbox in the list and click Delete.

    A user who owns open messages can’t be removed from a group mailbox. First use a mail client to assign all the user’s messages to other users or move them to the Unassigned folder. You will need to be logged in as a system administrator or other user who has the required privileges.

    Users may have to reset the folder list in their mail programs before changes to group mailbox membership are reflected there.

  6. Now set the options for each group mailbox.

    User group mailbox options
    User group mailbox options
    Admin
    Make the user a group mailbox administrator. Group mailbox administrators get alerts and error messages relating to the group mailbox and, depending on the group mailbox configuration, may have more privileges than regular mailbox users (see Setting Privileges for Group Mailbox users). They are also permitted to connect with RM Admin and modify settings for the group mailbox.
    Approver
    Select this option to allow the user to approve outgoing messages. After reviewing a message, the approver can send it out if approved or return it to the user if not approved.

    If there are multiple approvers for a group mailbox, messages needing approval are distributed, in round-robin fashion, between them.

    Needs approval
    Select this option to route the user’s outgoing messages to an approver before being sent out.
    Don’t auto assign
    Select this option to prevent incoming messages from being automatically assigned to the user. For example, you may not want to assign messages to group mailbox administrators or approvers.

    This option prevents messages from being assigned via both of the automatic assignment methods (round robin and load balanced). It doesn’t affect assignment by rules or the Assign customer replies to previous owner group mailbox option.

    An advanced option, settable only through a SQL query, lets you change the behavior of this option so that customer reply assignment is also prevented when it is on. This change affects the behavior of the Don’t auto assign option for all users in all group mailboxes.

    1. Connect to the Response Manager database using SQL Server Management Studio.

    2. Execute the following query:

      update rm_config set ignore_dnd_for_replies = 0
      
    3. Restart the emailtopia Response Manager service.

    To change back to the default behavior, follow the same steps but use this SQL:

    update rm_config set ignore_dnd_for_replies = 1
    
  7. If you have added the user to more than one group mailbox, choose a default group mailbox by selecting it in the list and clicking Make Default. A mailbox icon appears next to the user’s default group mailbox.

    When a user initiates an email conversation, or thread, (as opposed to replying to a customer email) the outgoing message is sent from the user’s default group mailbox.

    Users may send a message from any of their group mailboxes by specifying the group mailbox account name, followed by a > symbol, at the start of the subject of the message. For example, sending a message with the subject of sales > Monthly Specials will cause it to be sent from the sales group mailbox, regardless of the user’s default. (The sales > prefix is removed from the subject automatically by Response Manager.)

  8. Click OK.

To delete a user:

→ Next: User Aliases

This documentation looks best when viewed with Internet Explorer 9 or greater or the current version of Google Chrome.