Setting Privileges for Group Mailbox users

You can control the actions that the group mailbox users and administrators are allowed to perform and the messages they are allowed to see. For example, you can specify whether group mailbox users may reassign their own messages, view messages assigned to other users, or take ownership of unassigned messages.

Privileges are enforced in Outlook (and other IMAP clients), the Find Messages utility, and the Response Manger Web UI.

To set the privileges for users and administrators in a group mailbox:

  1. Click Privileges. The group mailbox privileges dialog box appears.

    Group mailbox privileges dialog box
    Group mailbox privileges dialog box
  2. Select User beside each privilege that you want regular group mailbox users to authorized to have.

  3. Select Admin beside each privilege that you want only group mailbox administrators to have.

    When a privilege is assigned to regular users, group mailbox administrators are automatically assigned that privilege as well.

    You can assign the following privileges:

    This privilege… …allows the user to
    Reassign messages Reassign their own messages to other group mailbox users.
    Reassign messages assigned to other group mailbox users (if they also have the “View other users’ messages” privilege).
    View other users’ messages View messages assigned to other group mailbox users.
    View unassigned messages View messages that have not been assigned.
    Disclaim messages Send assigned messages back for assignment to another group mailbox user.
    Take ownership of unassigned messages Claim unassigned messages. The user must also have the “View unassigned messages” privilege for this be useful.
    Move messages to other group mailboxes Move messages from this group mailbox to another one.
    Assign ticket number Associate a message thread with a ticket number.
    Shred messages Permanently delete messages. Shredded cannot be retrieved.
    Flag messages as spam Flag messages as spam.
    Put messages on hold Set messages aside to be dealt with later. If a user has this privilege, an On Hold folder appears in the Response Manager account in his mail client.
  4. Click OK.

Setting Alerts for a Group Mailbox

Alerts can be sent to group mailbox administrators or to any other email addresses if the number of unassigned messages grows too large, or if a message is not answered or approved within a specified time period.

  1. Click Alerts. The Alerts dialog box appears.

    Alerts dialog box
    Alerts dialog box
  2. Select and configure the alerts you want enabled.

    To use this alert… …do this
    Unassigned Enter the maximum desired number of unassigned messages.
    Unanswered Enter the time limit for replying to a message.
    Approval Enter the time limit for approving a message.
  3. For each alert, specify to whom it should be sent: group mailbox administrators and/or other email addresses. For the email address option, separate multiple addresses with a semicolon. For example, eddie@example.com; cheryl@example.com.

    Alert messages sent to group mailbox administrators appear in the Inboxes of their Response Manager accounts, not in their My Messages folders.

When an alert condition is met, an alert message is sent immediately. Alerts are sent every hour for as long as the alert condition persists.

Deleting a Group Mailbox

To delete a group mailbox:

  1. Close any open messages in the group mailbox or move them to another mailbox. You cannot delete a group mailbox that contains open messages.
  2. Select the Group Mailboxes tab.
  3. Select the group mailbox and click Delete.

Deleting a group mailbox does not delete the messages contained in it. Messages in deleted group mailboxes may be found and viewed using the Find Messages function (see “Searching for Messages” in the User Guide).

→ Next: Automatic Message Assignment

This documentation looks best when viewed with Internet Explorer 9 or greater or the current version of Google Chrome.